The Tipping Point

Standard

By Dana Janine Diamond  c 2016

image

I feel crushed
by the world
breaking apart
as if we were all
just still
icebergs
becoming sea ice
facing the inevitable
the deep, groaning, unworldly
sound
of energy
loudly
releasing

image

It is pain and fear and poverty
and isolation
a resounding
refusal
of poetry and connection

image

Where should we go
to navigate these treacherous
waters
where do we escape
the crashing hate that surrounds
can I trust my neighbor
can I trust myself

image

I feel devastated
and frightened
that no country feels
safe
I’ve known
what it feels
like to be

assaulted
beaten
abused
betrayed
terrorized
violated
had a gun
to my head
and on the run

and now we
are living in a climate change
where a man who was once
a joke
in oversized frozen neon gold
is now immortalized
makes hatred and violence
seem like a bold
choice
again

image

I feel pummeled
a bit more destroyed
every day
by the shooters
the brocks and bombers
and their families
who grew the hate
in their hearts
the way most
grow tomatoes, cucumbers
and daffodils

image

image

I’m not sure
intellect alone
can rescue us
the answer to more
hard cruelty
is softness
the reaction to more
misogyny
is emotion
the rationale response
to the tyranny
and twittered litany
of abuse
is tears

image

I’ve tried being tough
and smart
and capable
and kind
and invincible
and now
I’m just tired

I feel worn down
by the world
and the only way
to move this mountain
is to cry

all the sorrow
I’ve hidden away

image

I don’t know
what you all
do with your pain
mine needs to see
the light of day
float out
to open sea

so that hope
never leaves

image

COPYRIGHT 2016 Dana Janine Diamond ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. See Copyright Notice pertaining to thejewishpoetess.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

