On The Trail of The Scent

Standard

By  Dana Janine Diamond

I’m tinder

and I feel frail,

a little tender,

from the spaces

between your lines

I could be reeling

or being reeled in

should be reigned in

I’m kindling

and I feel fine

perched on a bough                                                    

peering this way

and that

to see

which way

our souls

descended

where it was written

we were intended

to meet, to imagine

the subtle flutter

of what could be

and if I climb back down                                                     

and shimmy off this tree

twinkling in fairy lights

because that’s how

this girl will always

see it

I’ll wander off

twigs snapping

beneath my feet

Cavalier king spaniel puppy lapping                                   

in circles by my side.

Seems the dogs

were always destined

to have my scent

and it would not matter

If I’m permeated with vanilla,

birch bark or dewberry,

it’s the me of me                                                                       

the you of you

the shiver inside

I sense

close by

in the distance

COPYRIGHT 2011 Dana Janine Diamond ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. See Copyright Notice pertaining to thejewishpoetess.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

